Three Scientists of Quantum Mechanics Won Physics Nobel Prize

3 Ilmuwan Menangkan Hadiah Nobel.
3 Ilmuwan Menangkan Hadiah Nobel.
Sumber :
  • Aljazeera

VIVA – The 2022 Nobel Prize in Physics has been won by three scientists for their work on quantum mechanics. Alain Aspect from France, John Clauser from the United States, and Anton Zeilinger from Austria have won the £802,000 or around US$795,300 prize announced on Tuesday, October 4, 2022, by the Royal Swedish Academy of Science in Stockholm.

These three researchers won the 2022 Nobel Prize in Physics for "experiments with entangled photons, establishing the violation of Bell inequalities and pioneering quantum information science”.

The work of these scientists has focused on a phenomenon known as quantum entanglement, which was dubbed “spooky action at a distance” by Albert Einstein. The research is expected to play an important role in quantum computing, secure information transfer, and sensing technologies.

“Quantum information science is a dynamic and rapidly evolving field. This has far-reaching and potential implications in areas such as secure information transfer, quantum computing, and sensing technology,” Nobel Committee member, Eva Olsson said.

“Its origins can be traced to quantum mechanics. Their predictions have opened doors to other worlds, and they have also shaken the foundations of how we interpret measurements." Eva Olsson added.

Ilustrasi getaran energi fisika kuantum

Ilustrasi getaran energi fisika kuantum

Photo :
  • U-Report

While physicists often tackle problems that seem at first glance far from everyday problems, tiny particles, and the vast mysteries of space and time make their research provide the basis for many other practical applications of science.

Halaman Selanjutnya